How to make a living from creating

So I’m following my creative whims, but also am applying myself to learning more traditional art practice, such as anatomy study, portraiture, painting techniques, etc.

I believe through applying myself, developing skills that I can make a living from my art, this is no longer an option in my life, but as a necessity, a path I have to follow.

Donations, skill swap, i’m interested to know people’s experiences of these, and any other advice on earning from art, currently am trying to get some of my art in cafes in Saigon, and just getting people’s feedback.

Maybe sites like Shutterstock are possible places to sell artwork, but I would really prefer to avoid doing a lot of digital work, which seems to be required to put images on these stock sites, has anyone had experience of this?

