Swatt Art Weekly 5

Hello, welcome to update 5

After trying to focus mainly on traditional art skills over the past week and getting stuck towards the end of the week, with a major drop in creative energy, I’ve realised I need to mix things up more, so I will be doing part traditional skills, part experimentations/fun art, also I’m sure this will keep these updates much more interesting with a random/combination of what I’ve been making.

So here is a mix up, me, plants from the zoo, this is starting to evolve a theme for me humanity and nature, not there yet but working on it, there will be more, I’m sure! I am a politically minded person and have always sought positivity in life so will this will naturally evolve into my work as time passes, I don’t just want to be a decorative artist.

Actually my whole reason for developing traditional art skills is so I can be more free, have more fun and be more experimental with them and make my imagined art more detailed, better quality and more desirable, am not sure if this is the best direction to go, but we’ll see.

Inspired by a partially depressing visit to Saigon zoo, here’s an elephant image, this is A1 size, the plants were good at the zoo but poor elephants!

Ink, with felts and a happy water spoiling accident, led to this, apply water to felt tip to get a nice bleeding effect.

I think I need to do a spot of traveling sometime this week, so looking forward to sharing my findings and imaginings from this journey.

Sam Watterson
swatttoon

www.samwatterson.co.uk

Receive this weekly update http://eepurl.com/brMlcf

