Week 11

Hello, what an eventfully week, stepping outside of the comfort zone and learning a lot

Live art

On Saturday I took part in a painting performance with 14 other artists at Cable, which is a warehouse type music venue in Ho Chi Minh, it was an interesting experience and a great opportunity to meet and see the process of other artists, we also overlapped our work which added another interesting element, here’s my piece on the left.

Watercolour
On Sunday I was lucky enough to go out n about painting with a group of water colourists in Ho Chi Minh city, this was really inspiring and changed my perspective.

I have always loved the look and feel of watercolours, but have often found it frustrating and difficult to progress, but hanging out with the artist group yesterday really helped me push through the frustrations, seeing people’s processes really enlightened me. Collaborative efforts really helps push us forward, it’s important to find people to share with when learning and working away from academia.

Random thought, when we create things that we’ve imagined aren’t we just regurgitating what the mind has been fed, if I draw and paint from observation, isn’t this the same thing, but simpler, especially if I reproduce something that has an effect on me, and the interpretation is unique, more impressionistic than perfect, this is me convincing myself to focus on painting and drawing from observation, rather than my prior thinking that drawing from observation is boring and unoriginal and just as an inspiration for abstracts.

I do love going out and about and spotting interesting things to draw and paint, actually this was why I used to love photography in my youth. So my commitment now is to go out n about and paint at least 2 watercolours a day.

Abstracts
I am finding my abstracts to be cold and without authenticity, perhaps this will change in time, no doubt my observational drawing and watercolour work will include abstract compositions, to try and include some mystery or intensify the feeling in an image, let’s see, time will tell.

Chemicals
I seem to have burned my hands with chemical cleaner for oil paints, seems to be some kind of omen to stop me progressing with them, so gentle watercolour it is then, no nasty chemicals to deal with!

Finally thanks to the Apple iOS 9 update, I am able to send these posts in a relaxed and relatively stress free manner, fingers crossed this will continue.

Bye, until next week

