Week 12

I spent a few days down the coast on the weekend, at a place called Vung Tau, which is the closest beach to Saigon, as I mentioned last week, I’m focusing on water colours, 2 paintings a day is the minimum, so here’s a few from the past week:

Last week (general)

Vung Tau
I always come to this cafe when I’m down, (the one I’m sitting in which you can’t actually see), the building on the otherside of the lake is a disused restaurant, normally I draw here so was good to challenge myself with paint this time.

The view from my room, the sea almost merges into the sky, beautiful and soft and so difficult to do any justice.

Apart from a little advice from friends or YouTube videos, I’m teaching myself watercolours, learning by doing, and the essential part: critiquing of my work, this helps me learn from each painting I do and remember for my next one, so bit by bit overcoming faults in my work, but I am always open to advice, so for those with experience of painting please pass on any tips you may have.

I am also working on a wall mural for a cafe, which I should be painting next week, so that’s pretty exciting, this is a contemporary design, a combination of electronics and nature, that sort of thing, so looking forward to sharing the progress of this project.

Thanks and until next week

Sam WattersonArtist and Teacher

