Cutout and sketches – week 24

Hi all, welcome to 2016!

I would like to introduce myself for those who are following me and don’t know, I’m from the UK, currently living in Vung Tau, Vietnam, I studied animation at uni and have spent quite a lot of time working in education, creating in my spare time.

About 8 months ago I decided to quit creating with computers, as I couldn’t find a role that I was passionate enough about and switched to hand made art. My change in mind came after watching an inspiring YouTube video by Joseph Campbell, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TLKUFYAOoRI I was also meditating and even fasting, these allowed me to get back to basics, and realise what I need to do with my time, since then I have been making art and sharing my progress in this weekly update. Being realistic I know I will have to subsidise my art with other jobs but am confident that in time my art will pay me enough to allow my focus to be exclusively on creating.

So onto this weeks update, I’ve been fasting for a few days (I do this once a year), and injured my ankle, so have been working at home mostly, I had some coloured card left over from teaching, so decided to work with that and see what comes up. I do like to be out and about though and staying at home too long causes me cabin fever, so yesterday I went out to sketch beside the sea.

Here are a few of the cutouts I’ve done, I was limited to a few colours, not necessarily what I would choose, but I feel it’s good to have to work within limits sometimes.

Next are some pen sketches from the seaside, I like working fast like this, more energy and movement in an image I think, maybe I will just hang about doing these in touristy areas and have a sign or something, saying "postcards for sale!"

Finally some characters and an apple, I used to draw a lot of characters, so was nice to combine them with some abstract imagery here.

I’m seeking to improve my updates, making the pictures better by scanning them rather than photographing, so I hope your able to enjoy them a bit more, see you next week, over and out šŸ™‚

Sam

3 thoughts on “Cutout and sketches – week 24

Leave a Reply

