Back in London – Week 27

Hi everyone, welcome to my first week back in London.

2016-01-20-199

A special hello to Minh Thy Nguyen Ngoc, who has been receiving my weekly updates for the last few months, and thanks for your lovely email, as you can see I will be making the most of my current location here in London, and looking forward to visiting Saigon again in the near future, to catch up with you and my other great friends there and be further inspired by Vietnamese culture and people, I sincerely look forward to this.

This week I have been exploring London galleries and creative projects, there are many, and here a few from the area where I am currently living, which is Southwark.

The first gallery is the Drawing Room, it is quite interesting, featuring giant zips and life size drawn characters, here’s their website www.drawingroom.org.uk if you would like to learn more.

The next place I found is mainly a framing shop, with beautiful antique frames, I was interested in their wood cut printing, there were many, antique and new prints, the main exhibition featured images that were very painterly, a bit abstract and very atmospheric, here’s the exhibition website, David Laing is the artist www.pureandapplied.co.uk/exhibition

This is the White Room, an interesting exhibition, I wasn’t allowed to take photos but you can see the paintings on their website, they are contemporary and abstract paintings http://whitecube.com/exhibitions/

Finally, London Glassblowing, it was amazing to see all the different styles of blown glass, and how this material can be formed, shaped and coloured in such different ways, here were many beautiful works and also the furnace and tools for working on glass, I will return soon so will hopefully see them creating the objects, their website is http://londonglassblowing.co.uk/

Here’s a few more, much larger national galleries, their websites have extensive works of art, so I’m sure you’ll discover many interesting pictures by visiting them. The Tate is a contemporary art gallery http://www.tate.org.uk/ the National Portrait Gallery is a more traditional gallery and features a very realistic art amongst other things http://www.npg.org.uk/ and the V&A, which features many sculptures and traditional art works also http://www.vam.ac.uk/.

I hope you’ve enjoyed learning about some of the UK’s small and large galleries and I’ve certainly enjoyed visiting them, very inspiring. See you next week, I’ll be featuring more galleries as I’m exploring London’s creative places.

It would be interesting to hear people’s opinions on these art works, so please comment and start a conversation about them. See you next week.

Sam

3 thoughts on “Back in London – Week 27

Leave a Reply

