Pop up and life drawing (39)

Over the last week I’ve been playing with pop-ups, something I’ve always been interested in, I fondly remember a Jack and the Bean Stalk story pop-up book, from when I was a child, so thought I’d have a mess about with some basic methods and incorporate some of my felt tip drawings into them. Also included in this weeks update is more life drawing, I’m working to look for simple beautiful lines here.

Pop-up, I’m completely new to this, I like the idea of making a little surprise, the movement in the opening and how the lines interact, and the way these are so compact, I will do some cards with pop-ups in the next few weeks, let’s see how that goes.

Life drawing is a great challenge, the human body is so familiar and complex, it can feel frustrating trying to get an accurate drawing, even more so when your focus is on simplicity and harmony, I’d rather edit and compose a drawing which flows assisted by the natural lines of a body than to simply copy, which is also very challenging but everyone is trying to create realism, I think realism distracts our imaginations and lessens the enjoyment in a drawing or painting, that could just be my perspective though.

I’m working on some acrylic paintings at the moment, so they should be included next week, and more lifedrawing, maybe I’ll use charcoal, see you next week.

Sam

Leave a Reply

