Swatt Art update

https://gallery.mailchimp.com/7f573d828c1ded15551eecc1a/images/07228e54-07c6-452d-ad53-222ecc47be19.jpg

Collage and Rotate

The two pictures I am featuring in this Swatt Art update are quite different and experimental, as most of my work is really, at the moment, incorporating paint pigment, glue and a new colour, illuminous orange, see more below:

https://gallery.mailchimp.com/7f573d828c1ded15551eecc1a/images/c54b0c6b-55ec-41c9-ac66-ffa36d7d0d7a.jpg
“Collected Together”, Swatt, 2016, collage of acrylic paint, powder paint, ink, glue, and a drawing, on canvas, 40 x 50cm

This painting has evolved from a work I have had for sometime, but I decided to add more layers, so that finally only a few bumps and grooves are visible, I had a variety of media on hand and I have been planning to start adding drawings to my painting, here I saw a great opportunity to integrate a paper drawing onto the canvas, using the thick paint to marry the two together, I am enjoying the variety of this and I like the focal point of the drawing, it feels like a new interesting direction for my painting work.

https://gallery.mailchimp.com/7f573d828c1ded15551eecc1a/images/399e8509-51af-41e2-b5a9-7df52368d66d.jpg
“Rotated Gravity”, Swatt, 2017, glue, acrylic and ink on canvas, 55 x 56cm

This painting started out as a cross section of lines and boxes, I am playing with the idea of crisp edges and broken edges, I notice a feeling of freedom, peace and purpose behind lines that are done and not gone over or tidied up, better done right the first time, allowance for variance or start again, I feel when I go back and try to make a line neater, it looses that sense of final purpose, of a mark that was done with confidence as a final mark.

For this painting I applied acrylic paint and then marker ink, an experiment, as this ink behaves differently from normal ink, drying much quicker, so the flow is limited, finally glue was washed over, as I want to create a shiny surface, another thing I am experimenting with at the moment, matt vs shiny.

I will be painting and combining more drawings onto canvas over the next few weeks, and after that I plan to focus on drawing and watercolors, I find these are a convenient way of mixing media on the move, and creates some lovely effects, partly because water colours contrast well with ink.

I am also doing a free Swatt Art Class, by email, you can join here

Thanks for reading.
Sam
www.swattart.co.uk

Leave a Reply

